Mayor's Youth Council


The Ankeny Mayor's Youth Council provides Ankeny's young people with an active role in addressing youth issues. Serving on the Mayor's Youth Council offers leadership experience and active community involvement with the guidance of the Mayor, City Council and Ankeny Parks & Recreation.

The Council was established in 2000 and is empowered through Chapter 27 of the Municipal Code.

The Mayor's Youth Council spends the majority of its time sponsoring and participating in community outreach events and hosts a youth leadership symposium event annually.

The Youth Leadership Symposium is an event organized by the Mayor's Youth Council and is designed to help Ankeny's youth, grades eight through 12, develop important leadership skills.

The symposium will be held on Saturday, April 27, 2024 at the Ankeny Kirkendall Public Library, located at 1250 SW District Drive, in conference rooms A, B and C. This free event will begin at 9 a.m. and is open to students in 8th through 12th grades.

Event Agenda

  • Keynote Speaker - Jan Herke
    • From Basketball to Boardrooms: Leadership lessons from a professional basketball player, WNBA referee and Parks & Recreation Director
  • Youth Appreciation Awards Presentation
  • Door prizes

Youth Appreciation Awards

The Mayor's Youth Council recognizes a youth and youth group every year at the symposium for their positive impact and enrichment to our community. Nomination deadline is March 15, 2024.

Nominate a recipient for Youth of the Year (online form)

Nominate a recipient for Group of the Year (online form)


Fifteen high school students are appointed to serve as volunteer representatives to advocate on behalf of Ankeny youth, inform them of existing opportunities and listen to suggestions on what the City can do to improve its youth-oriented efforts. Terms are 1 year with unlimited subsequent terms. There are no special requirements to serve.

2023-24 Mayor's Youth Council

  • Josilyn Syata,  President
  • Taylor Bennett, Vice President
  • Iris Meier, Secretary
  • Mitchell Anderson
  • Curran Anliker
  • Cora DenHartog
  • Abby Drosieko
  • Duy Duong
  • Mary Faidley
  • Emma Kisgen
  • Tatum Murphy
  • Anh Nguyen
  • Addison White
  • Vivian Wu
  • Chrissi Zachariades