Civil Service Commission


  • The Civil Service Commission meets on an as-needed basis in the council chambers, located at the Ankeny Kirkendall Public Library.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.  Contact the Clerk of the Civil Service Commission for copies. 


The Civil Service Commission members serve four-year staggered terms. There are no special requirements to serve.

  • Ray Blase, Chair
    Appointed: Apr. 7, 2014
    Term Expires: Mar. 31, 2026
  • Laura Luetje
    Appointed: Apr. 1, 2021
    Term Expires: Mar. 31, 2025
  • Kevin Tracy
    Appointed: Aug. 7, 2017
    Term Expires: Mar. 31, 2024


The Civil Service Commission was established in 1973. The Commission hears and determines all matters involving the rights of civil service employees and may affirm, modify or reverse any case on its merits.

The Commission is empowered through Chapter 24 of the Municipal Code.